Local Goa News

Sunday, July 31, 2016

Police statistics: No politician convicted in any case for last 18 years

Panaji: Not a single politician in the state has been convicted in the last 18 years, while cases against them are still pending in the courts, as per police statistics. Many cases have been withdrawn and in some cases, the accused have been discharged.

For nearly two decades, the Goa assembly has been rocked by several scams, including power subsidy, misappropriation in cooperative banks, Iffi scam and mining scam, but nobody has been punished. In some cases, police have filed closure reports, but some cases are still under investigation.
As per police statistics, during the last two decades, 15 Goa politicians had been booked under various sections of the Indian Penal Code (IPC), which include defence minister Manohar Parrikar, tourism minister Dilip Parulekar, industries minister Mahadev Naik, Dabolim MLA Mauvin Godinho, Calangute MLA Michael Lobo, former chief minister and Margao MLA Digambar Kamat, former PWD minister Churchill Alemao, former Union law minister Ramakant Khalap, ex-MLA Dharma Chodankar, ex-MLA Jitendra Deshprabhu, ex-MLA Somnath Zuwarkar, former speaker Francis Sardinha and ex-MLA Prakash Velip.
In 2001, Godinho was chargesheeted by the crime branch along with former chief electrical engineer T Nagarajan and five others in a case of granting undue favours to certain companies by means of a power rebate. The case is still pending in the Supreme Court.
Goa police booked Parrikar in the alleged Iffi infrastructure scam, later the case was transferred to the CBI, which filed a closure report in the court and gave a clean chit to Parrikar in the alleged scam.
The crime branch has booked Kamat and Alemao on bribery charges in the JICA water project in 2010. Crime branch has already filed the chargesheet in the Louis Berger case, but the crime branch has approached the Supreme Court to cancel the anticipatory bail granted to Kamat in the case.

TOI Goa News

No comments:

Post a Comment